clean up, lane 1.

I do love Chick-fil-A, but have cut back recently. However, today the cupboards were bare and my stomach was growling. In fact, I think I heard it say, “eat more chicken.” But that could have been my imagination.

Just picked up G from school. He didn’t appear to be falling asleep in his car seat, so I thought it’d be okay to make a quick swing through the drive-thru.

I place my order and slowly drive around the turn to the first window. You can tell by the looks of the curb that many are in a rush to get to that chicken sandwich.

There is a trash can. Placed right on the turn. Just at window height. It’s like they knew that I had a can of d. coke in my cup holder taking the place of my new, fresh, bubbly, fountain d. coke that I’m about to get.

I take the can out of the cup holder and throw it into the trash can. Oh no! I totally missed the trash can. Are you kidding me? I was not a full 12″ away. The car door was even too close to the trash can for me to open it and pick the can up. (BTW, I know, I know, I should be recycling the can. Don’t judge me. Hmm… maybe this was a sign.)

I was talking to my doppelganger, A, on the phone while this was all happening. I say to A – “OMG, I’m such a jerk! What should I do?!” We decide that I just tell the lady at the window. Of course, being a Chick-fil-A employee, she was very nice and told me not to worry about it at all – she even laughed along with me. Or maybe at me.

No lessons learned here – just a funny story about me and my d. coke.

NOTE: On Thursday, November 5, receive a FREE chicken biscuit or chicken sandwich when you donate at least 3 non-perishable food items to participating Triangle area Chick-fil-A restaurants. All donated food items will benefit the Durham Rescue Mission, the Raleigh Rescue Mission, or a local food pantry.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “clean up, lane 1.”

  1. Melissa Says:

    That’s too funny! At least you were actually concerned about being a litterbug… I see way too many people chucking stuff out their window on purpose!

Leave a Reply

