tubes.

My sweet G has had 9 ear infections in the last 7 months. If I had known that we were going to be dealing with this in November, I would have done things differently. I think that is the overall theme to parenting, “ahhh… if I’d only know.”

Here are the reasons why G did not get tubes:

*When kids turn 2, they tend to outgrow them. He turned 2 in February.
*Spring was on its way.
*He started taking Xylarex. A non-antibiotic that is supposed to reduce ear infections.

Here are the reasons G is getting tubes at 6am tomorrow:

*He has woken up between 1-4 times each night since November. He’s tired. We’re tired.
*Spring is here. No change.
*I will not pump any more antibiotics into this poor child.
*He is always messing with his ear and says, “ouch, ouch, ouch.”
*I cannot see him in pain anymore.

So many people have said it’s life changing for the child. I’m not counting on anything. I don’t want to get my hopes up. Pssst… I will let you in on a little secret – I am kinda getting my hopes up. But, please don’t tell anyone – I don’t want to jinx it.

Our appointment is at tomorrow at 6am. Please think of me, my sweet husband, and, most importantly, G.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “tubes.”

  1. Suzanne from pretty*swell Says:

    Big hugs!! Will keep you guys in my thoughts. So glad he’s having this procedure. I’ll get my hopes up for you!! Keep me posted! xo

  2. rubber7soul Says:

    Awww. My son just had his tonsils and adenoids out. Surgery is stressful. Thinking of you all tomorrow and hoping that it brings the changes everyone talks about. My sons surgery most certainly did!

  3. Peter Says:

    Get well, G. Best of luck for everyone!

  4. emmadear Says:

    Awww, what a touching post. I wish you all the best!

  5. Melissa (@adventuroo) Says:

    I hope he’s feeling better now, chica! And you guys are getting some rest!

  6. Izzy Says:

    Awww. So young and he’s going through a lot. I hope everything is okay now. (I guess he is, by looking at e picture of him riding the rhino) Hehe. Please update more about his progress.

Leave a Reply

