just one, please.

I didn’t realize how liberating it would be to say, “Just one, please.”

If you read my happiness is: guest post on Pretty*Swell, then I’m sure you have been eagerly awaiting this post.

Whenever I hear that someone in my family is eating alone – I feel so sad. So sad, in fact, that I almost start crying. (I know, I’m ridiculous.) The crazy part is that they are not sad at all about it – they love it! It gives them time to read or write alone. No distractions.

I have no problem doing things alone. I’m independent. Really. I swear. There is just something about eating at a restaurant alone ::gulp:: that I just can’t handle. (BTW, that ‘gulp’ was a pun. Intended.) Maybe I’m such an extrovert that it pains me not to be interacting with someone… Anyone! If I’m working on my laptop and eating, it’s cool. I’m cool. My computer is my security blanket. And with IM, Twitter, Facebook, etc… I’m only one ‘h’ and one ‘i’ away from a convo.

So, I was eating alone as I wrote this post. It was done the good ol’ fashioned way – pen to paper. And guess what? I felt great about it. The food was great, the service was great, there weren’t any distractions. And, I kinda liked thinking that people thought I was writing something wicked important.

Do any of you like to eat at a restaurant alone or perhaps need to overcome the fear like I did?

My next feat. Going to the movies by myself. Gasp!

9 Responses to “just one, please.”

  1. Suzanne from pretty*swell Says:

    I hear you! I used to dread eating alone, but now I LOVE it. My lunch hour is often the only time I get all week where I don’t have to be a mother, wife, employee. I can eat wherever I want, and I don’t have to keep up a conversation. I usually catch up on my magazine reading over a salad. Divine!

    Props to you for dining alone!! Can’t wait to read about your solo movie outing. 🙂

  2. Ann Says:

    I have eaten alone, but honestly just don’t dig it. Maybe it was where I attempted to eat by myself, but the guy waiting on me just wouldn’t shut up. It was like there was something wrong with me for not having a dining partner. I think I should try it again. You make it sound liberating.

    The movies…alone. I admit that would be very hard for me to do. I like to share my movie experience with someone. Look forward to hearing how it goes!

  3. Mander Says:

    Reading your post made me realize that I can’t even remember the last time I ate alone… Hmm… I’m actually never alone. Always either at work, at home with the kids, out with friends or the hubby, etc… So now I’m curious to see if I would enjoy the alone/quiet/peaceful time or if it would make me crazy since it’s so out of my zone of “normal”…

  4. Andrea Says:

    I don’t mind eating alone if I have a book or a magazine. But a movie alone! I LOVE that. Especially a chick flick. Maybe because I like being alone? Or because I know there is plenty waiting for me when I get done. Or because I can actually enjoy the movie without a certain someone’s eyerolls 😉

  5. Susanna Says:

    Without reading or writing material I know I couldn’t eat out alone, but with one of those solo things to do, I find it simply wonderful to have quiet alone time….

    AND, I love love love love love going to the movies alone! Both armrests are all MINE, mwahhhhh hahahaha!

  6. Melissa (@adventuroo) Says:

    Wow- it’s been a long time since I’ve had a meal alone. I agree though- it’s kinda nice! I’ve never been to a movie alone I don’t think but I could PROBABLY do that. Wanna do it together? Oh wait. 😉

  7. Heidi Walker Says:

    I like eating alone at some restaurants but not others. It all depends on the atmosphere.

  8. Cyndi Says:

    Nothing like motherhood — where you don’t even get to pee alone — to make even an extroverted girl enjoy an old fashioned lunch by herself. It’s about the only occasion I ever (rarely) have to read an entire article in The New Yorker. So lovely…

  9. smelmila Says:

    I’ve loved eating alone since 1996 when I moved 2000 miles away from home to attend college. (I am pretty sure you were on the phone with me through some of these first meals alone.) Many adventures ensued and in most destinations, I was the only person I knew and sometimes (mostly in different countries) I met interesting characters during the meal. If I decide to become a mother, I am sure I will especially appreciate this kind of alone-time. I love doing things alone and enjoying my own thoughts about the food and atmosphere, and reading whatever I want! Don’t cry for me, HD:) xo

Leave a Reply

